Learning about Antinatalism with Amanda Sukenick | EnjoyYour24 ▶️

This week Mo chats with antinatalist advocate Amanda Sukenick. Antinatalism is a family of philosophical views that are critical of reproduction — they consider coming into existence as bad or deem procreation as immoral. Antinatalists thus argue that humans should abstain from begetting children. Antinatalist views don’t need to be limited only to humans, but may encompass all sentient creatures, claiming that coming into existence is a harm for sentient beings in general.

Hi there, I’m Amanda, also know as Oldphan. I always feel a bit guilty when tasked to explain my life, as there’s already an embarrassing number of hours of me yammering on and on about my every intricacy on my Youtube channel, ForeverWolf Films. I’m currently 37 years old, I’m an artist of many mediums, I live in Chicago IL USA, and I’ve been producing Antinatalist & EFIList Multimedia for around 10 years.

I was born in Manhasset Long Island, New York, in 1983, the deeply twisted child of a psychoanalyst and an oil painter/advertiser. In some respects, I’ve been a very actualized person from a very early age, and I mostly had a great childhood, filled with art and action figures and comic books and weird movies… But there’s no question that I was also a very troubled kid. Being a fat, transgender, learning disabled, obsessive-compulsive nerd, who was obsessed with darkness and horror and monsters – others often found such a child abhorrent. Though I would later come to love welding the provocative and controversial and shocking for the sake of art & performance, I often felt like I got that reaction as a kid for reasons that were entirely out of my control, and that often made me feel very misunderstood and under attack. I felt like people were always trying to fix me, to rehabilitate me to some idea of normalcy, and it made me afraid to use my voice, fight back, and to assert my real opinions… [+]


RELATED CONTENT: